Probate Bonds

red

Notary Bonds

red

Other Count Bonds

red

Miscellaneous Bonds

 

Notary Bonds

Who can become a Notary?

To become a notary in the State of Michigan, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;

  • Be a Michigan resident or maintain a place of business in Michigan;

  • Be a US citizen or possess proof of legal presence;

  • Be a resident of the county in which you request appointment;

  • For non-Michigan residents, maintain a principle place of business in the county where you request appointment;

  • Read and write in the English language;

  • Be free of any felony convictions within the past 10 years;

  • Have not been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act (2003 PA 238) within a 12-month period while commissioned, or 3 or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of this act within a 5-year period regardless of being commissioned;

  • Not be imprisoned in any state, county, or federal correctional facility.

Why Do I need a bond?

The State requires a surety bond of all notaries to protect the public from errors that may arise. The bonds that we write fulfill the state requirement for the entire length of your notary commission, plus they include a $10,000 errors and omissions policy to protect you in the event that you are held personally responsible for an error.

I'm already a Notary. How do I renew my commission?

You simply re-apply. There is a section on the Notary Application where you will indicate your previous notary commission.

NOTARY APPLICATION PROCEDURE:

Step 1: Complete the State of Michigan Notary Application.

Application

Step 2: Send your completed Notary Application to our office along with your check for $55.00 made payable to the Bologna Agency Inc.

Step 3: We will issue your bond your bond, and send it to you along with your errors and omissions policy with policy and your Notary Application.

Step 4: You then take your Notary Application and the Notary Bond to the county clerk where you will take your oath and pay the $10.00 filing fee.

Step 5: You now send your Notary Application to the State of Michigan along with a $10.00 processing fee to:

Michigan Department of State
Office of the Great Seal
7064 Crowner Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48918

Do not send cash.  Make your check or money order payable to the "State of Michigan".

Step 6: The state will send your notary commission to you in approximately 2 weeks.

Step 7: You may take your notary commission to any office supply store and get your notary stamp and seal.

If you have any problems with the notary application process, you can call the State of Michigan at (517) 373-2531.